IA2018 map

Introducing Instrumental Access 2018

Seeding Labs Announcements, Blog, Instrumental Access 2018 1 Comment

We are thrilled to introduce the newest additions to the Seeding Labs community: the Instrumental Access 2018 awardees! You can meet them here

Here are a few facts about the 2018 group...

There are 14 new awardees from 10 countries.

While the majority of the 2018 awardees are located in sub-Saharan Africa, we also have representation from South Asia (India) and Latin America (Peru). The group includes a university in a country new to Instrumental Access: Benin.

More than 15,000 students per year will benefit from this year’s Instrumental Access shipments.

Instrumental Access equipment will impact an estimated 14,900 undergraduate students and 1,200 graduate students each year—providing crucial hands-on educational opportunities.

Hundreds of scientists will  gain access to the equipment they need to transform lives and fuel development.

Equipment will be available to 300 faculty members in the awarded departments alone, as well as many others from across these universities and beyond.

All of our awardees are using their scientific expertise to search for solutions to the problems that matter most to their communities and the world.

Here are a few examples:

Learn about these projects and more on our Instrumental Access 2018 page, or meet some of them in this video!

Awardees were announced at our Positively Instrumental event, where we celebrated our 10th anniversary.

We were pleased to host Professor Maxime da Cruz, Rector of the Université d'Abomey-Calavi in Benin; Professor Kabiru Adeyemo, Vice Chancellor of Lead City University in Nigeria; Professor Allen Malisa, Principal of the  Solomon Mahlangu College of Science and Education at Sokoine University of Agriculture in Tanzania; and Professor Joseph Ampiah, Vice Chancellor of the University of Cape Coast in Ghana.

Instrumental Access 2018

We were also joined by scientists from 11 of the 2018 Instrumental Access awardee universities and 3 past awardees. 

Share this Post

Comments 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *